Training Day: Week One mixed with some Kobe

Hello Friends!

What night in sports last night huh? Red Sox won. My Penguins crushed Zach’s Rangers in game one of the playoffs 😉 Naturally Steph Curry continued to blow my sports loving mind with his 400th three of the season. BUT CAN WE JUST TALK ABOUT KOBE’S LAST GAME??? That damn man is such a legend. To go out with 60 points in your final game after such an incredible career, totally fitting. I mean do you throw a piece of garbage into a trash can without yelling “Kobe!!!” because I certainly do not. Plus I think we can all agree that any day that Jay-Z decides to show up on your final day of work you know you’ve lead a ballin’ life. #mambaout

Anyway, as I mentioned in my previous post I was signed up for a half marathon last Saturday but due to being 100% not ready I did not participate. The night I made the disappointing decision I got online and found a new race to train for The FaxonLaw Fairfield Half Marathon in Fairfield, CT! Zach is from Fairfield and his parents actually live right on the race route which will be fun to pass (unfortunately for me towards the end where I’ll probably be dead). It looks like a great half to explore the beautiful coastal town so I’m really exctied. I love running races in different cities, so far I’ve run races in 5 states and I’m looking forward to tacking on more!

Race Photos

Colorado 10K. Vermont Half Marathon. Georgia 5K (aka a time I was heavy into tanning)

So the race is June 26th and I’ve given myself a solid 12 weeks of training for this one because knowing my schedule I want ample time to get myself into gear. So here is how it’s going so far…

Thursday 4/7: 2 Miles in 23:00.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Nothing planned but I did get my 10,000 steps in on my Fitbit which was my goal.

Sunday (done on Monday) 4/11: 2 Miles in 24:00. My plan has my long run day on Sundays which is normally one of my days off but this week I worked so I pushed it to Monday. It was a chilly afternoon outside but it was a good run around the neighborhood.

Tuesday 4/12: 1 Mile in 12:00. I planned for 2 but I forgot my socks at home and running in sneakers on a treadmill without socks lasted all of 12 minutes.

Wednesday: 20 Minutes on a Treadmill. This wasn’t a planned run but I got done work and didn’t have enough time to head back home to catch the 2nd period of Penguins game so I headed the treadmill to watch. I ended up running a mile and then walking on an incline but I have no further details because I literally just wanted to watch the game and get to 10,000 steps on my Fitbit.

Here is my plan of attack for this next week:

Thursday: TEMPO: 2 Miles @ 11:30 with 1 Mile warm-up/cool-down.

Friday: BOSU workout.

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: LONG: 3 Miles

Monday: Yoga @ Sangha

Tuesday: EASY: 3 Miles

Wednesday: Rest

Anyone else training for anything? How’s it coming along?

Did you guys catch any of the awesomeness in sports last night??

 

 

Leave a comment