Training Day: Jan 1st-7th

Greetings from the Tundra! This whole “feels like negative 25 degrees” thing is really messing with me. I’m normally not as big of a pansy but something about the weather not being above my age is really a bummer. Anyway on to the post, so I know I’m not training for anything yet but part of my goal for this year is to prioritize fitness so I figured what better way to do that than by keeping track on the blog!

Typically I would start with Thursday and highlight the exercises I’ve done through Wednesday but since I took full advantage of the long holiday weekend without any plans (thus being as lazy as humanly possible) we can skip right to Monday this week! Though to my activity credit, Tennessee did win their bowl game on Friday afternoon with an impressive showing offensively so for those three hours I was jumping up and down constantly.

Monday 1/5: Yoga Class (55 minutes).

I started the week off well with a lunchtime fluid yoga class at Sangha. I was able to get there early enough to score a spot on the wall which came in handy when I needed to prop myself up from exhaustion. Stretching of any kind took a back seat in the last two weeks of December so I felt about as limber as a brick building. Caitlin the instructor helped me push through a chair pose that left my legs burning so bad but so good.

Studio

Tuesday: Rest Day.

I located my missing sneakers so that was a big win.

Wednesday: Pro Ride Snowboard Workout Series Beginner (30 minutes) + Stretches (15 minutes).

Not too long ago in my random google searching I found this workout series from Pro Ride to get myself ready for the snowboarding season and so far I’ve fallen in love with it. They are spot on with how they relate to snowboarding moves and I love that there are workouts of various difficulties available. I’d highly recommend this workout series as something quick (only takes about 30 minutes to complete with a warm up and cool down) and helpful for mountain kids and flat landers alike ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now on to my plan for this upcoming week…

Thursday: Yoga @ Sangha + 30 minutes of cardio.

Friday: Fluid Yoga @ Sangha + Spin Class @ Cyclepath.

Saturday: Vinyasa Yoga @ Sangha.

Sunday: Snowboarding ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Monday: Rest Day aka “I went snowboarding yesterday” recovery.

Tuesday: Fluid Yoga @ Sangha.

Wednesday: Either Flow Yoga @ Sangha OR 30 minutes of cardio + core work.

ย Week one (ish) of the year in the books, on to the next one!

Do you plan out your workouts like appointments? I have to or they will never get done.

Any snowboarders/skiers out there have any fun off snow exercises?

2 thoughts on “Training Day: Jan 1st-7th

Leave a Reply

