Recapping: A Fantastic Wedding Weekend

So I’m recapping my weekend on a Thursday… worst blogger ever award goes to me. I planned to do this Monday night when we got home but then I got distracted with fantasy football drafts, Tuesday would have been good but I was playing board games and Wednesday was an under the weather type of day… so even though it’s practically a new weekend here you go!  As many of you know I attended a wedding in Connecticut this weekend and I could not have asked for a better way to spend the long weekend 🙂

Some highlights…

A Saturday morning spin class at Fairfield’s Zen Ride I’ve been to Zen Ride once before (first class is free) so when I knew I’d be in Fairfield the night before I signed up for an 8:15 am “ZenTensity” class that proved to be well, intense!  If I’m being honest it was a little pricey but I absolutely got bang for my buck.  The instructor Terre was high energy and high reward, just what I needed to kick off a weekend of eating and drinking.

ZenRide Spinning Studio

A Rehearsal day (yes, day) that was amazeballs.  Zach’s hometown friend Jeff and his bride-to-be Kaitlin pulled out all the stops for the rehearsal day and I was so happy to have been included.  From meeting at the venue to hanging out at a the Arrigoni Winery including a wine tasting for the entire bridal party (which I think was a great idea) it was one of those days you hope to repeat again.  The bride had a full on itinerary… you know how much of a planner I am so I was all about this. Kaitlin actually has a blog that I found a little while ago (basically I was like I’m going to your wedding, I should look you up on the Facebook… oh shit is that a blog? Hellsssss yeahhh it is! End scene) anyway it is called For Love Of Carrots that you guys must promise me you will check out!!  She gives great advice for not only athletes but also overall health and well being.  After this weekend I definitely trust her opinion on food plus she posts pictures of their adorable dog, Brady. Win! Jeff and Kaitlin        The happy couple at their Rehearsal.

GroomsmenA handsome bunch of groomsmen.

Zach and ISometimes we clean up well, sometimes.

Arrigoni WineryThe wines were delicious, my favorite was the River Bend. We did damage on a couple of bottles of that!

An upgraded hotel room with a tub fit for a Queen.  There isn’t much to be said about this except WHO DOESN’T LOVE A FREE UPGRADE??? In all my 6 years in the hotel business I’ve never been upgraded… I didn’t think I would be as excited as I was but look at me writing in capital letters about this.

Rehearsal dinner at the best cupcake shop in Connecticut. No seriously, it’s been voted on. I’ve already talked about NoRA Cupcakes in my 4th of July post but seriously they had their rehearsal dinner actually AT NoRA’s.  Talk about a good time! The room was laid back but so fun, they had a belly dancing video on loop next to Finding Nemo because why not? The food was catered from I have no idea where and was delicious but the star of the night was this massive chocolate cupcake that I ate half of and basically wanted it to be my best friend.

NoRA's CupcakesI felt this was the only face appropriate for my feelings towards this cupcake. You are welcome.

A solo trip to Target. The hole that I feel inside not having a Target in Vermont is far too large to put into words. I tend to make sure if I go out of town that I can make a trip to Target and I could easily spend hours in each section. I understand how people can be like “what is so special about Target?” actually no, I don’t understand that thought process because to me that’s like saying “what is so special about a puppy?” and I’m just not having it.  Anyway this particular run was less than fruitful but still it was exactly how I wanted to kill the day pre-wedding time while Zach was off getting his groomsman on.

Spending as much time as I wanted getting ready for the wedding.  The shuttle didn’t leave until about 4:45 which meant I had all the time in the world to get ready (i.e. dance around in my sweatpants for hours) and I took advantage of it!  I mentioned before that I had ordered my dress online from Lily Boutique so I of course had to snap a few pictures before leaving the room. I am quite pleased with how it turned out!

Lily Boutique DressI loved the color!

A bus ride with another fellow blogger Caitlin from Cait Plus Ate! Caitlin was so sweet and remembered me from the engagement party we went to last summer.  I’ve also been reading her blog for a couple of months now and she does an awesome job of sharing advice and giving reviews of fitness classes as well as restaurants & bars around the Boston/CT area.  Bonus: her dad is a Tennessee alum and her little sister is a current student. The minute she said Go Vols I knew we’d hit it off 😉

An absolutely gorgeous wedding that not even the rain storms could ruin. The wedding was held at the Wadsworth Mansion and while it had to be pushed under the tent at the last minute, not even the crazy storm could distract from the beautiful couple and their even more beautiful vows.  I don’t know the couple that well but in just hearing those vows you don’t need even need to know them to understand them. So adorable!

Then of course there was the beverage consumption, the incredible dinner and more ridiculous dance moves than you could possibly hope to see.

Wedding CoupleBlushing bride and some of her groomsmen.

Zach and IThe only photo of Zach and I and it’s blurry/post rain and dancing. Of course. Good thing we have another wedding this month to try again…

As I mentioned before,  it was an awesome way to spend a Labor Day weekend!

Cheers to adding the H 🙂

Have you ever been to an all-day Rehearsal? This was my first but I gotta say it was a cool and different way to get the bridal party together.

Favorite cupcake place?? This is actually important to answer.. because then I can go find it.

6 thoughts on “Recapping: A Fantastic Wedding Weekend

  1. I am sooo glad I discovered you have a blog, now we can stalk each other via the inter webs! I loved that dress you wore and may have to get it, or steal from you! Also love zen ride and will def go with you next time your in town & you should come to bar method with me sometime!

    • Ha who needs Facebook stalking when there are blogs to be read? Zen ride was the first legitimate spin studio I had ever been to and now I have a membership to one around here so I’d say it was successful. I’d love to come to bar method with you, though if you read the recap of my first barre experience there’s potential I’ll embarrass you with my inflexibility!

Leave a Reply

