An Evening at Snow Farm Vineyard & Winery

Last evening I joined my Pops, Katie and our family friend (and honorary sister) Kelly on a bike ride from the Colchester Causeway deep into the Champlain Islands along Lake Champlain. Our destination: Snow Farm Vineyard & Winery for their FREE Thursday night concerts in the field! The concerts are held every Thursday through the summer and my family had gone last week but I was not able to join so this week there was no way I was missing it!

We took off from Airport Parkway and made our way to the Island Line Bike Ferry– literally taking you from one side of the causeway to the other for a round-trip fee of $8, less if you are a member of the bike shop. This was my first time using the bike ferry, not only was it convenient but they were so sweet and grabbed our bikes for us and even unloaded them once we arrived at the dock.

Bike Ferry  Not a bad life…

Kelly, Katie and IKelly, Katie and I on the ferry!

The 9 mile bike ride to the Vineyard is fairly flat but the Island side has a few decent hills that made us work hard. At one point I tried to pass my dad but that man just won’t quit, retired life suits him well!

Once we arrived to the field there were tons of cars parked already and people camped out with blankets and folding chairs all over the place. There was plenty of room around everyone but I’d definitely recommend getting their early to secure a good spot! Luckily for us, my mom and some family friends had already arrived and grabbed us a spot so we worked our way through to join them 🙂

Snow Farm VineyardIf it’s free, people will come.

Mom and MaxwellMy lovely mother holding Rebecca’s adorable baby, Max!

The band was great, they played a lot of cover songs from rock & roll to country and even some newer pop songs. South Hero is only a few miles away from my hometown so it was fun to run into a bunch of people I hadn’t seen since high school. They do have some food trucks there but outside food is welcome. You are not allowed to bring your own alcohol- tough to care when you can buy delicious bottles of their wine and head back to your blanket (my favorite is the 2012 Estate Seyval Blanc- a little sweet, a little tart, perfect for after a bike ride) and they even have a few beers on tap.

Katie, Kelly, Rebecca and IThese are my sister’s close friends Kelly and Rebecca, they are practically family!

Katie and I agreed that our favorite part of the event is that everyone is welcome, whether you are 5 or 85 it’s a great evening to spend some time enjoying the weather and live music with friends and family. This is an event I would absolutely bring my friends to (I’ve already started the bragging process) and I am really hoping I get to take Zach’s parents when they come next month!

We left a little early to be able to grab the ferry again over the causeway and to avoid riding our bikes back in the dark.

Dad, Katie and IPops, Katie and I waiting for the ferry to take us back over

I cannot recommend this bike adventure and the concert series enough, it was so fun and I can’t wait to go back!

On an entirely separate note, it’s VERMONT BREW FEST DAY!!! I’ll be headed to one of my favorite events of the summer later this evening and I am so excited!

Also, I’m currently writing this post while listening to the Open Championship online, have you ever met anyone that listens to golf online? Yep, that’s me. Come on Rory!

Do you attend free local concerts in the summer?

Have you ever taken a ride on a bike ferry?

2 thoughts on “An Evening at Snow Farm Vineyard & Winery

  1. I’ve attended summer concerts that weren’t free and weren’t at a winery…both of those things are right up my alley. This sounds like such a fun event and the ferry ride sounds like fun! I’ve never been on a ferry, but I have been on a water taxi. 🙂

Leave a Reply

